nothing’s bothering me

July 3005: JuarezArt Household
last update/next update
Arturo is 68, Donna is 69.

narrated by Arturo

It has been four years since we’ve married, and Donna and I are still in our honeymoon phase. We are just so happy in love and retirement.

Being married has made retirement much more bearable. I enjoy much more free time in doing all my hobbies, like tennis. Before, I would be mostly hang around the house with my son Diego‘s family, practically a live-in babysitter.

But the more frequent calls from Diego are becoming a bit excessive. As much as he calls about going out to do something, you would think he was single. I’m finding myself turning him down more and more. And suggesting that he needs to spend all this time with his wife and kids.

Donna has really gotten into cards over the past year, since our poker club was disbanded. She’s gotten into playing online, since cards between two people is really not that much fun.

Now that I think about it, she’s been spending a lot of time online.

But as soon as I think it, she’s off the computer for the day and I realize that I’m overreacting.

She even shares another hobby of mine: sports. I used to think that she’d be turned off by the roughness as I find her kind of dainty. But no, she gets really into them. I’m loving her more and more for that.

Especially after she had the great idea of setting up a college fund for the grandchildren. Diego and my other son Dominic wouldn’t need the savings fund, as their children already have trust funds set up at the time of their birth. But my stepdaughter and son-in-law‘s family sorely need one. Their oldest daughter Sarai likely will attend college for free but it’s not guaranteed. They may have time to save up for their youngest daughters but university is right around the corner for Sarai. And they aren’t exactly rolling in the dough on police chief and nurse’s salaries either.

I have no problem sharing my wealth with all of our family. I even decided to take it a step further and make a donation to the town’s scholarship program, so that students who need it can still attend school.

********************************************************************************************************

  • The title is from Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head by Manic Street Preachers.
  • Another nice update from Arturo and Donna. They’re settled into their new place nicely, which I’ve fully decorated. Thankfully, their assigned colors are complimentary to each other (pink and brown).
  • Diego kept calling his dad constantly. Enough to where I thought, aren’t you supposed to be at work?? But at least their relationship is back to being high. With Arturo not living with them any more, it’s harder to keep all the familial relationships up.

  • Donna got into the gaming hobby with their poker table they had at the other place. So whenever she’s not sucking face with Arturo (seriously all they do is make out and woohoo), she’s at the computer searching websites and blogging about games, which in my game it’s gambling.
  • Arturo is a part of the wealthy Juarez family, so it is very much in his character to help Jeff and Brit out with college costs for their kids. All the Juarez kids receive a 100,000 on the day they turn into a child, which they cannot touch until they finish undergrad, or age 30 if they don’t go to college (which is heresy in this family). But Jeff and Brit struggle with their bills as is. Jeff is the chief of police and Brit is head of nursing at Rockport University Hospital. They make enough money to cover all of the bills but nothing much extra. Sarai is on track on entering FENSA and getting a free ride to college in four years, which takes loads of pressure of them, as they are worth too much money for the low-income scholarship that the city provides, and they cannot afford to pay for 4-12 years of schooling for one child, let alone three.
  • Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “nothing’s bothering me

  1. Wow
    Can he adopt me? Lol
    Can’t wait to see where Sarai goes for university and what she will major in.
    This couple is so sweet, love it 🙂

  2. These two are really a sweet couple, and their home is lovely. It’s wonderful that they are helping out with college education for their own family, but the community as well! Looking forward to seeing how Sarai does in college, now that the money portion won’t be a problem.

    1. I am in the middle of doing taxes for the hood. I forgot that I was going to do taxes every four years.

      Turns out that the Underwoods, other than Doris and Vyn, are the poorest household. They got the only tax refund and is in the lowest tax bracket. The FENSA award is a one-time award of $20K, but the Students of Excellence award is for a full-ride (tuition, books, room and board). As long as she maintains her high grades and her family remains in the low bracket, she’ll be able to get the full scholarship and the FENSA can be a nice bonus.

      There’s still the possibility that the Underwoods can gain some wealth within the next four years, so the full scholarship is not guaranteed. No wonder Britney is pushing for the FENSA membership. Along with Arturo and Donna’s help, it is greatly needed.

Leave a Reply

